The District Budget Steering Committee met on September 16, 2024 at 6:00pm at the Arzell Ball Center, 410 South Greenville Avenue, Richardson, Texas 75081, with the following present: Tabitha Branum, Superintendent; Mike Jasso, Chief of Staff; David Pate, Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Support Services; Melissa Heller, Assistant Superintendent of Strategy and Engagement; Matthew Gibbins, Assistant Superintendent of Administrative Services; Leticia McGowan, Assistant Superintendent of General Counsel; Kristin Leeper, Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning; Chris Goodson, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources; Henry Hall, Assistant Superintendent of Technology; James Watson, Senior Executive Director of Operations; Joe Miniscalco, Senior Executive Director of Student Services; Michael Freeman, Coordinator Director for Special Projects; Nancy Kinzie, Executive Director of Human Resources; Charles Bruner, Executive Director of Secondary Education; Cecilia Galvan, Director of Attendance and Truancy; Allison Davenport, Executive Director of Finance; as well as the following committee members: Chanda Ash, Euan Blackman, Lauren Bolack, Trey Bryant, Socrates Costa, Aurora Everett, Yolanda Gaither, Bryson Graves, Raul Hinojosa Jr., Lena Ho, Mark Holmes, Thomas Howery, Jeff Jarvis, Jenny King, Mariama Maiga, Stephanie Miller, Steve Mitchell, John Monroe, Robin Pampillonia-Hunt, Kevin Pitts, Scott Ricamore, Tammy Richards, Charles Rothermel, Blake Sawyer, Jennifer Schmiel, Sarah Southward, G. Scott Waddell, Mechelle Wahlberg, Gary Wolff, Katie Yacharn, John Zancana.

Superintendent, Mrs. Tabitha Branum, welcomed existing and new Community Budget Steering Committee Members and thanked them for their commitment and service.

Mr. David Pate summarized the committee's recommendations that were presented to the Board of Trustees in December of 2023. An update of Project RightSize was shared, which included the implementation of central reductions, elementary school consolidations, and strategic compensation.

Mr. David Pate gave an overview of each of the following sub-committees and their purpose:

- Voter Approval Tax Rate/Bond Election
- Inter-District Options/Choice Programming
- Standard Staffing Model

The Community Budget Steering Committee members were given the opportunity to select their sub-committee.

David Pate, Henry Hall, Melissa Heller, and James Watson facilitated the Voter Approval Tax Rate/Bond Election sub-committee. Tax rate history, previous bond election data, and tax rate election background information was reviewed and discussed.

Matthew Gibbins, Dr. Kristin Leeper, and Joe Miniscalco facilitated the Inter-District Transfer Options/Choice Programming sub-committee. Introductions were made and sub-committee expectations were delivered. Inter-district transfers, procedures, and timelines were explained. Choice Programming was defined and discussed.

Dr. Christopher Goodson, Mike Jasso, and Leticia McGowan facilitated the Standard Staffing Model sub-committee. Introductions were made and sub-committee expectations were communicated. Staffing Models and guidelines were considered, and secondary schedule changes were examined.

Committee members will continue to work in their sub-committee groups at the next meeting on October 21, 2024.

The meetings were adjourned at 8:30pm.